{
  "api_version": "2.0",
  "url": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/api/v2/figures/sah_contribution_independence_self_funded.json",
  "schema": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/api/v2/schema/api.json#/$defs/figure_file",
  "docs": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/data/",
  "publisher": "retirementwealth.com.au",
  "scope": "Retirement Wealth provides selected factual information about Australian retirement rules and rates. It does not provide personal or general financial product advice or recommend financial products. Summaries may not cover every condition or exception. Check the linked official sources and obtain advice appropriate to your circumstances before making financial decisions.",
  "figure": {
    "id": "sah_contribution_independence_self_funded",
    "former_ids": [],
    "label": "Support at Home contribution rate: independence, self-funded retiree with no Commonwealth Seniors Health Card",
    "category": "aged_care",
    "category_label": "Aged care",
    "concept": "aged_care.support_at_home.contribution_rate",
    "kind": "rate",
    "dimensions": {
      "service_category": "independence",
      "means_status": "not_eligible_for_pension_or_cshc"
    },
    "value": 50,
    "display_value": "50%",
    "unit": {
      "code": "percent",
      "plain": "Per cent",
      "quantity": "ratio",
      "currency": null,
      "per": null,
      "per_amount": null,
      "ratio_divisor": 100
    },
    "ratio": 0.5,
    "effective_from": "2025-11-01",
    "effective_from_basis": "value",
    "validity": {
      "from": "2025-11-01",
      "to": null,
      "basis": "value",
      "status": "in_force"
    },
    "applies_by": null,
    "resets": "legislated",
    "review_dates": [],
    "source": {
      "title": "Support at Home costs and contributions",
      "publisher": "My Aged Care (Department of Health, Disability and Ageing)",
      "url": "https://www.myagedcare.gov.au/support-home-costs-and-contributions",
      "type": "primary"
    },
    "verification": {
      "status": "verified_primary",
      "checked_on": "2026-10-11"
    },
    "notes": "The rate for a person who is not eligible for the pension or the Commonwealth Seniors Health Card, for services in the independence category. It also applies where a person has not disclosed their means. Contribution rates are a percentage of the price of each service received. Part pensioners and self-funded holders of a Commonwealth Seniors Health Card pay a tapered rate between the full pensioner rate and the self-funded rate, based on their income and assets assessment. My Aged Care says the government fully funds personal care services from 1 October 2026. My Aged Care says Support at Home participants contribute on this basis from 1 November 2025.",
    "conditions": [
      {
        "text": "It also applies where a person has not disclosed their means."
      }
    ],
    "exceptions": [
      {
        "text": "Part pensioners and self-funded holders of a Commonwealth Seniors Health Card pay a tapered rate between the full pensioner rate and the self-funded rate, based on their income and assets assessment.",
        "modelled": false
      }
    ],
    "caveats": [],
    "legal_basis": [],
    "derivation": null,
    "related": {
      "same_concept": [
        "sah_contribution_clinical",
        "sah_contribution_independence_full_pensioner",
        "sah_contribution_everyday_living_full_pensioner",
        "sah_contribution_everyday_living_self_funded"
      ],
      "inputs": [],
      "used_by": []
    },
    "upcoming": [],
    "first_published": {
      "release": 8,
      "recorded_at": "2026-10-11T09:38:35Z"
    },
    "last_changed": {
      "release": 12,
      "recorded_at": "2026-10-13T08:24:56Z"
    },
    "cite_as": "Support at Home contribution rate: independence, self-funded retiree with no Commonwealth Seniors Health Card: 50%, applies from 1 November 2025. Official source: My Aged Care (Department of Health, Disability and Ageing), Support at Home costs and contributions (last checked 11 October 2026). Retirement Wealth, https://retirementwealth.com.au/rules/aged-care/sah-contribution-independence-self-funded/",
    "links": {
      "self": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/api/v2/figures/sah_contribution_independence_self_funded.json",
      "page": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/rules/aged-care/sah-contribution-independence-self-funded/",
      "current_value": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/api/v2/figures/sah_contribution_independence_self_funded/2025-11-01.json"
    },
    "timeline": [
      {
        "value": 50,
        "display_value": "50%",
        "ratio": 0.5,
        "effective_from": "2025-11-01",
        "effective_to": null,
        "basis": "value",
        "status": "in_force",
        "source": {
          "title": "Support at Home costs and contributions",
          "publisher": "My Aged Care (Department of Health, Disability and Ageing)",
          "url": "https://www.myagedcare.gov.au/support-home-costs-and-contributions",
          "type": "primary"
        },
        "verification": {
          "status": "verified_primary",
          "checked_on": "2026-10-11"
        },
        "notes": null,
        "url": "https://retirementwealth.com.au/api/v2/figures/sah_contribution_independence_self_funded/2025-11-01.json"
      }
    ]
  }
}
